Best Halal Small Pills Fish Oil by EPA and DHA
Seven halal fish oil picks compared on EPA, DHA, softgel size and daily dose. Green Field Nutritions wins overall; Noor Vitamins wins for potency.
The best halal small pills fish oil in this set is Green Field Nutritions 1000mg Halal Omega 3, which delivers 180mg EPA and 120mg DHA per softgel from wild Peruvian fish, in a 120-count bottle that lands mid-pack on price. If you want a stronger daily dose in the same softgel form, Noor Vitamins Halal Fish Oil steps up to 800mg EPA and 400mg DHA and adds ISNA halal certification.
Most halal fish oil guides compare bottle counts. That is not what decides it. What decides it is the split between the two omega-3 fatty acids the label actually names: EPA and DHA. A 2,000mg fish oil softgel that gives you 300mg of combined omega-3 is doing less work than a 1,000mg softgel giving you 300mg from a leaner formula, because concentration is what your body notices, not the number on the front of the bottle.
Best halal small pills fish oil at a glance
| Pick | EPA / DHA per softgel | Per-serving fish oil | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall Green Field Nutritions 1000mg Halal Omega 3 |
180mg EPA / 120mg DHA | 1,000mg claim | Check Price |
| Best premium Noor Vitamins Halal Fish Oil |
800mg EPA / 400mg DHA (2 softgels) | 2,000mg claim | Check Price |
| Best for beginners Zaytun Halal Fish Oil 1200mg |
300mg omega-3 (1 softgel) | 1,200mg | Check Price |
| Best for heavy use SHIFAA Halal Omega 3 2000mg |
EPA and DHA present, split not stated | 2,000mg | Check Price |
| Best for families Spoonful Mini Omega 3 Fish Oil |
Split not stated | 1,290mg | Check Price |
| Most versatile SHIFAA Halal Double Strength 60 Ct |
720mg EPA / 480mg DHA (per serving) | 1,200mg omega-3 claim | Check Price |
| Best budget pick Sundance Mini Fish Oil 1340mg |
830mg omega-3 (split not stated) | 1,340mg | Check Price |
What buyers get wrong about halal fish oil
Two mistakes come up in the halal fish oil aisle again and again, and both cost money.
The first is treating "halal" as a single, uniform stamp. It isn't. Of the seven products here, only Noor Vitamins explicitly names its certifying body in the listing (ISNA), while SHIFAA Nutrition's double-strength softgel names AHF halal certification. The others use the word halal without naming the certifier. If the certifier matters to your household, that gap is decisive.
The second is chasing total fish oil milligrams and ignoring the split between EPA and DHA. SHIFAA's 2000mg softgel and Sundance's 1,340mg softgel both quote big totals on the front label, but neither lists a separate EPA and DHA figure in the product data. Compare that with Noor Vitamins, which publishes 800mg EPA and 400mg DHA per two-softgel serving. The published split is the number your doctor and your labelling agency care about.
Small pill size is the third criterion. Spoonful and Sundance both market "mini" softgels and Sundance's bottle weighs just 1.6 oz for 60 count, which points to a physically smaller capsule than the 7.3 oz bottle Green Field ships for its 120 count. If swallowing is the sticking point, that weight-per-softgel ratio is a real proxy.
How I screened the halal fish oil listings
I started with the buyer profiles a halal fish oil shopper actually shows up with, then matched picks to each one. Four profiles came out of the listings:
- The observant halal buyer who needs a certified halal supplement and reads the label for a certifier name.
- The small-pill buyer who cannot swallow standard-size softgels and searches specifically for mini capsules.
- The dose-tracker who knows they need a specific EPA and DHA target and buys from the split, not the total.
- The trial buyer who wants a small bottle to test tolerance before committing.
Green Field Nutritions covers profile one and profile three at once, which is why it takes best overall. Noor Vitamins covers profile one and profile three at a higher dose, which earns it best premium. Zaytun and SHIFAA's 2000mg softgel serve profile three with different daily-dose shapes. Spoonful and Sundance answer profile two, though Sundance is not explicitly halal-labelled and sits here as the budget mini softgel for shoppers who separate the two criteria. SHIFAA's double-strength 60-count answers profile four with a shorter-run halal option.
Products with no published EPA or DHA figure at all were parked behind those with clearer labels. That is why SHIFAA Nutrition's 2000mg softgel, despite the highest per-serving fish oil claim in this set, sits below Noor Vitamins in the ranking.
1. GREEN FIELD NUTRITIONS 1000mg Halal Omega 3 Fish Oil — Best overall
Green Field Nutritions publishes the clearest EPA and DHA split in the entry price band, which is why it wins overall for halal small pill fish oil buyers.

Best for: a steady daily EPA and DHA dose from a halal-labelled softgel Skip it if: you want the full 1,000mg omega-3 threshold in a single softgel
Green Field lists 180mg EPA and 120mg DHA per softgel, sourced from small wild Peruvian fish, in a 120-count bottle that Green Field describes as a two-month supply at two softgels a day. The manufacturer says the oil is molecularly distilled to remove heavy metals such as mercury, and the product is made in a GMP-certified, FDA-registered facility in the USA. The listing calls it gluten-free, with no artificial flavour, sweetener, preservatives, sugar, starch or milk.
Two things separate this pick from the rest of the entry price band. First, the EPA and DHA figures are printed clearly on the listing, which most halal fish oil buyers need in order to plan their daily target. Second, the bottle weighs 7.3 oz for 120 softgels, so the capsules are not the smallest in this comparison. If mini-size is your top constraint, Spoonful and Sundance are lighter per softgel.
The trade-off is that each softgel provides 300mg of combined omega-3, which is lower than Zaytun's 300mg-in-one softgel and Noor Vitamins' 600mg-per-softgel serving. This is a two-softgel daily pill, not a once-a-day.
Pros:
- Clear 180mg EPA and 120mg DHA split per softgel
- Wild Peruvian fish source stated on the listing
- 120-count bottle covers roughly two months at Green Field's suggested dose
- GMP-certified, FDA-registered US manufacture
- Free of gluten, sugar, starch and artificial additives per the listing
Cons:
- Requires two softgels a day to reach 600mg omega-3
- Bottle weight suggests a standard softgel, not a mini
- Listing does not name a specific halal certifier
2. Noor Vitamins Halal Fish Oil — Best premium
Noor Vitamins is the only pick here that publishes both a specific halal certifier and an 800mg EPA / 400mg DHA daily dose, so it wins the premium slot.

Best for: anyone who wants ISNA-certified halal capsules and a 1,200mg omega-3 daily dose Skip it if: you want the cheapest halal pick in this set
Noor Vitamins lists 2,000mg of total fish oil per two-softgel serving, split into 800mg EPA and 400mg DHA for 1,200mg of combined omega-3. The bottle holds 120 softgels for what Noor calls a two-month supply, weighs 6.35 oz and measures 5 x 2.5 x 2.5 in. Noor says the fish come from wild cold-water Peruvian sources and that the softgels use bovine halal capsules certified halal by ISNA. The listing also states independent third-party lab certification for purity and heavy metals.
This is the highest price position of the seven picks. What that price buys is the clearest halal certification chain in the set, a published EPA and DHA split, and the highest per-serving omega-3 dose that also declares its split. Noor also says the product is formulated to prevent aftertaste and burps, which matters at this dose level.
The obvious trade-off is cost. If price rank matters more than certifier transparency, Green Field Nutritions delivers a labelled EPA and DHA split at a lower position.
Pros:
- ISNA halal certification named on the listing
- 800mg EPA and 400mg DHA per two-softgel serving
- Wild cold-water Peruvian fish source stated
- Third-party lab testing for heavy metals per the listing
- Non-GMO and gluten-free per Noor
Cons:
- The highest price position in this set of seven
- Bovine capsule may not suit shoppers who avoid bovine gelatin
- Two softgels needed to hit the stated 1,200mg omega-3
3. Zaytun Halal Fish Oil 1200mg — Best for beginners
Zaytun packs the whole daily dose into one lemon-flavoured softgel, which makes it the easiest halal fish oil to start on.

Best for: a first-time buyer who wants one lemon-flavoured softgel per day Skip it if: you already track EPA and DHA and want the higher totals
Zaytun's softgel delivers 1,200mg of fish oil with 300mg of omega-3 fatty acids in a single once-daily capsule, and the bottle holds 120 softgels for what Zaytun describes as a four-month supply. The listing describes a smooth lemon-flavoured formula, molecular distillation for purity, and testing for heavy metals and contaminants. It is halal certified per the listing, keto friendly and gluten free.
Beginners often bounce off fish oil because two-softgel routines are easy to forget. A one-a-day softgel with a stated lemon flavour is the frictionless way in, and a 120-count bottle at that pace stretches roughly four months. The bottle weighs 8 oz, the heaviest in this set, which tells you the softgel itself is not a mini format.
The trade-off is disclosure. Zaytun lists 300mg omega-3 per softgel but does not publish the EPA-to-DHA split, so dose-trackers cannot plan against a target the way they can with Noor or Green Field. The listing does not name the specific halal certifying body either.
Pros:
- One softgel per day for a full 1,200mg fish oil dose
- Lemon-flavoured formula for taste
- 120-count bottle equals a four-month supply per Zaytun
- Molecular distillation stated on the listing
- Keto friendly and gluten free per the listing
Cons:
- EPA and DHA split not published
- Specific halal certifier not named on the listing
- Heaviest bottle in this comparison at 8 oz
4. SHIFAA NUTRITION Halal Omega 3 Fish Oil 2000mg — Best for heavy use
SHIFAA's 2000mg softgel carries the highest per-serving fish oil claim in this set, so it earns the heavy-use pick.

Best for: shoppers who want the highest per-serving fish oil total in this set Skip it if: you cannot swallow two softgels at once
SHIFAA Nutrition lists 2,000mg of halal omega-3 fish oil per serving with EPA and DHA both present, in a 120-softgel bottle at 60 servings, so the serving size is two softgels. The listing says the fish are wild-caught from Peruvian waters and molecularly distilled, and the finished product is manufactured in an FDA-registered, GMP-certified US facility. It is described as burpless, non-GMO, gluten-free and free of preservatives, fillers and artificial ingredients.
The 5 oz bottle for 120 softgels is lighter than Green Field's, but not as light as Spoonful's. If your target is a high-dose halal option and you are comfortable with a two-softgel serving, this is the way to reach 2,000mg fish oil per day in a single product.
The trade-off is transparency on the split. SHIFAA's listing confirms EPA and DHA are present but does not state milligram values for each. That gap matters if you count fatty acids individually rather than by combined omega-3 total, and it is why Noor Vitamins takes the premium slot despite a lower total.
Pros:
- 2,000mg fish oil per serving, the highest total claim in this set
- 60 servings per bottle
- Wild-caught Peruvian source stated on the listing
- Halal certified and molecularly distilled per SHIFAA
- Burpless formulation claim
Cons:
- EPA and DHA milligram split not published
- Serving is two softgels rather than one
- Sits in the premium price band without publishing the split that would justify it
5. Spoonful Mini Omega 3 Fish Oil — Best for families
Spoonful ships the lightest 120-softgel bottle here at 3.53 oz, which points to a physically smaller pill that suits households where several people take one.

Best for: households where several people need small, iFOS-certified softgels Skip it if: you specifically need a halal-certified product
Spoonful lists 1,290mg of fish oil per serving in mini softgel pearls, iFOS (International Fish Oil Standards) certified, from wild-caught small fish sourced sustainably per the listing. The 120-softgel bottle weighs 3.53 oz, less than half the weight of Green Field's 7.3 oz bottle for the same softgel count, which is a real proxy for physical pill size. Manufacturing is in a GMP-compliant US facility.
For families where one member struggles with standard softgel size, a bottle of small pearls with an iFOS certification stamp is a strong shared option. Second-cheapest of the seven here, sold in a 120-count bottle, and easy to swallow by the manufacturer's design.
The important gap is halal certification. Spoonful's listing does not mention halal certification at all, so if you specifically searched for halal small pill fish oil, Spoonful is a small-pill answer to that search, not a halal one. That is why it takes best-for-families rather than a top-three halal slot.
Pros:
- Lightest bottle in the 120-softgel group at 3.53 oz
- iFOS certification stated on the listing
- Wild-caught small fish source per the listing
- Second-cheapest of the seven picks
- Made in a GMP-compliant US facility
Cons:
- Listing does not state halal certification
- EPA and DHA milligram split not published
- Weight-per-softgel is the strongest proxy for pill size, not a stated dimension
6. SHIFAA NUTRITION Halal Fish Oil Softgels 60 Ct — Most versatile
SHIFAA's double-strength 60-count is the halal option that names both EPA and DHA values and a halal certifier, in a shorter-run bottle.

Best for: buyers who want double-strength halal softgels with 720mg EPA and 480mg DHA Skip it if: you prefer a longer supply per bottle
SHIFAA's 60-count halal fish oil is described as double strength, delivering 720mg EPA and 480mg DHA per serving for 1,200mg of combined omega-3. SHIFAA says it is naturally sourced from wild cold-water fish, molecularly distilled, and AHF halal certified. The listing describes it as burpless and free of gluten, dairy, peanut and egg.
Two things make this the versatile pick. First, it is one of only two halal-labelled products in this set that publish a specific EPA and DHA split, alongside Green Field and Noor. Second, it names a certifier (AHF) rather than leaving halal as an unattributed claim. The 60-softgel bottle is a shorter commitment than the 120-count picks, so it suits shoppers testing a specific halal certifier before scaling up.
The trade-off is bottle length. This is a 30-day supply at SHIFAA's suggested dose, so per-year costs run higher than a 120-count. Sales rank on this listing is the slowest of the seven, so availability may vary compared with the more established halal bottles above.
Pros:
- Published 720mg EPA and 480mg DHA per serving
- AHF halal certification named on the listing
- Double-strength claim in a compact 60-count bottle
- Free of gluten, dairy, peanut and egg per SHIFAA
- Molecular distillation stated
Cons:
- Shortest supply per bottle in this set at 60 softgels
- Sits in the premium price band
- Slowest-selling of the seven picks here
7. Sundance Mini Fish Oil Softgels 1340mg — Best budget pick
Sundance is the cheapest of the seven and the physically smallest bottle, at 60 mini softgels for 1.6 oz.

Best for: a short trial of mini softgels before committing to a bigger bottle Skip it if: you need a halal certification on the label
Sundance lists 1,340mg of fish oil and 830mg of omega-3s per serving in mini softgels, with a natural lemon flavour and a burp-control claim. The 60-count bottle weighs 1.6 oz and measures 4.25 x 2 x 2 in, the smallest package footprint in this set. Sundance describes the softgels as non-GMO and free of gluten, wheat, yeast, milk, lactose, soy, artificial colour, flavour, sweetener and preservatives.
This is the entry point for shoppers who want to try a mini softgel format at the lowest price position in the set. The bottle dimensions and weight together confirm this is a genuinely small softgel, not just a marketing label.
The trade-off is the same as Spoonful, only sharper: Sundance's listing does not state halal certification. If halal is a hard requirement rather than a preference, this is not the pick, regardless of price. The EPA and DHA milligram split is also not published, only the combined omega-3 figure.
Pros:
- Cheapest pick in this set of seven
- Smallest bottle at 1.6 oz and 4.25 x 2 x 2 in
- 830mg omega-3 per serving per the listing
- Natural lemon flavour with a burp-control claim
- Non-GMO and free of the common allergens listed
Cons:
- Listing does not state halal certification
- Only 60 softgels per bottle
- EPA and DHA milligram split not published
Reading the EPA and DHA math on the label
Fish oil labels use three numbers that shoppers often confuse. Here is how to read them across these seven picks.
- Total fish oil per serving. This is the largest number on the front. SHIFAA's 2000mg softgel and Sundance's 1,340mg both lead with this figure. It tells you how much oil is in the softgel, not how much of it is the active fatty acid your body uses.
- Combined omega-3 per serving. This is the sum of EPA and DHA and any minor omega-3s. Noor Vitamins publishes 1,200mg omega-3 in a two-softgel serving. Sundance publishes 830mg.
- EPA and DHA milligrams, listed separately. This is the number that matters most. Green Field's 180mg EPA and 120mg DHA, Noor's 800mg EPA and 400mg DHA, and SHIFAA's double-strength 720mg EPA and 480mg DHA are the only three picks in this set that publish it clearly.
If a listing skips step three, you cannot plan a specific fatty acid target from it. That is a labelling gap, not a formulation defect, but it is a reason to prefer the picks that publish the split.
How small is small, really?
None of the seven listings publishes a softgel diameter, so the phrase "small pills" has to be judged from proxies. Weight per softgel is the most reliable one, because oil density and shell thickness are similar across the halal fish oil market.
Roughly:
- Sundance's 60-count 1.6 oz bottle averages about 0.027 oz per softgel.
- Spoonful's 120-count 3.53 oz bottle averages about 0.029 oz per softgel.
- SHIFAA's 2000mg 120-count 5 oz bottle averages about 0.042 oz per softgel.
- Noor's 120-count 6.35 oz bottle averages about 0.053 oz per softgel.
- Green Field's 120-count 7.3 oz bottle averages about 0.061 oz per softgel.
- Zaytun's 120-count 8 oz bottle averages about 0.067 oz per softgel.
Sundance and Spoonful sit clearly at the small end. Zaytun, unsurprisingly for a once-a-day 1,200mg softgel, sits at the large end. The halal picks that publish a full EPA and DHA split, Green Field and Noor, sit in the middle. That gap is the trade-off buyers of small-pill halal fish oil actually face: the smallest softgels here are not the ones with the fullest halal disclosures.
Which halal certifications appear on these listings?
The halal shopper needs to know which certifier stands behind the label. Here is what the seven listings actually name.
- Noor Vitamins. ISNA halal certification stated on the listing.
- SHIFAA Nutrition double-strength 60 Ct. AHF halal certification stated.
- Green Field Nutritions. Halal claim on the listing, specific certifier not named.
- Zaytun Vitamins. Halal claim on the listing, specific certifier not named.
- SHIFAA Nutrition 2000mg. Halal certified per the listing, certifier not named in the product data.
- Spoonful. Halal not stated in the listing. iFOS certification is stated, which is a fish oil purity standard, not a halal one.
- Sundance. Halal not stated in the listing.
If your household requires a named certifier, that shortens the list to two products in this set: Noor Vitamins and SHIFAA's double-strength 60-count. Everything else asks you to trust the word halal on the front label without a body behind it. That does not mean those products are not halal; it means the listing does not carry the paperwork.
Halal fish oil buying pitfalls to avoid
A short checklist for the aisle:
- Do not buy on total fish oil milligrams alone. A 2,000mg total with an unlisted EPA and DHA split gives you less information than a 1,000mg total with 180mg EPA and 120mg DHA printed clearly.
- Do not assume halal on the front label means a specific certifier inside. Only two of these seven listings name their certifying body.
- Do not confuse iFOS and halal. iFOS is a purity standard for heavy metals and oxidation. It does not certify a product as halal. Spoonful is iFOS certified but does not state halal on the listing.
- Do not ignore bottle weight when small pills are your goal. It is the best public proxy for softgel size when no diameter is stated.
- Do not overbuy on your first bottle. SHIFAA's 60-count double-strength or Sundance's 60-count mini give you a 30-day window to test tolerance before committing to a 120-count.
The verdict
If your requirement is a halal-labelled small-pill fish oil with a published EPA and DHA split at a reasonable price, Green Field Nutritions 1000mg Halal Omega 3 is the pick. It publishes 180mg EPA and 120mg DHA per softgel, states wild Peruvian sourcing and molecular distillation, and sits in the entry price band with a 120-count bottle that lasts roughly two months at Green Field's suggested dose.
If you want a stronger daily dose with a named halal certifier and you are willing to pay for it, Noor Vitamins Halal Fish Oil is the runner-up. Its advantage is exact: 800mg EPA and 400mg DHA per two-softgel serving and ISNA halal certification stated on the listing. That combination does not appear anywhere else in this set.
The cutoff is the label. Below the threshold of a published EPA and DHA split with a named halal certifier, you are choosing among general halal claims. Green Field crosses that threshold on the split; Noor crosses it on both. If your household separates the two questions (small pill first, halal certification second), Spoonful is the mini-softgel with iFOS certification and Sundance is the cheapest mini bottle, though neither carries halal wording in its listing.
FAQ
What is the best halal small pills fish oil for a beginner?
The best halal small pills fish oil for a beginner in this set is Zaytun Halal Fish Oil 1200mg, because it packs the full daily dose into one lemon-flavoured softgel and lasts four months per Zaytun. A one-a-day routine is easier to keep than a two-softgel one, and the lemon flavour is designed to soften the fish taste that puts new buyers off.
Is halal fish oil worth it over standard fish oil?
Halal fish oil is worth it if your household requires halal-certified supplements, which is a religious rather than a nutritional consideration. Nutritionally, the EPA and DHA values are what matter, and those numbers appear on halal and non-halal listings alike. Noor Vitamins and SHIFAA's double-strength bottle name specific halal certifiers (ISNA and AHF), which is what turns a halal claim into a documented one.
How do EPA and DHA differ, and why does the split matter?
EPA and DHA differ in structure and role: EPA is often discussed in relation to circulation, DHA in relation to brain and nervous tissue. The split matters because a 2,000mg fish oil softgel that lists no split gives you less information than a 1,000mg softgel that lists 180mg EPA and 120mg DHA. Green Field, Noor and SHIFAA's double-strength bottle publish the split explicitly.
Green Field Nutritions vs Noor Vitamins: which halal fish oil should I pick?
Green Field Nutritions vs Noor Vitamins comes down to price and certifier transparency. Green Field is the entry-priced pick with 180mg EPA and 120mg DHA per softgel and a general halal label. Noor is the premium pick with 800mg EPA and 400mg DHA per two-softgel serving and ISNA halal certification named on the listing. Choose Green Field for value, Noor for a higher dose with a named certifier.
Are mini fish oil softgels less potent than standard-size ones?
Mini fish oil softgels are not automatically less potent, but they usually contain less oil per softgel because the shell holds a smaller volume. Sundance's mini softgel still lists 1,340mg fish oil per serving, but the serving is a specific number of softgels, not one. Read the serving size before you assume a small softgel means a small dose per pill.
Halal fish oil buyers who want a defensible choice today should start with Green Field Nutritions 1000mg Halal Omega 3. It clears the two thresholds that separate a good halal fish oil from a marketing claim: a published EPA and DHA split, and a straightforward two-softgel-a-day routine that gets you to 600mg omega-3 without doing math each morning. If the ISNA stamp is a hard requirement in your household, Noor Vitamins is the direct upgrade path. Everything else in this set is a choice about pill size, bottle length or price, once the label question is settled.
Last updated: September 25, 2026. Product availability re-checked.
This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.