Best Vegan Black Seed Oil for Daily Thymoquinone
Seven black seed oil supplements, compared on the numbers the listings actually publish: thymoquinone percentage, milligrams per serving, capsule count and days per bottle. Plus who should skip the softgels entirely.
The best vegan black seed oil in this set is the Healths Harmony 120-softgel bottle, which delivers 1000mg of cold-pressed Nigella sativa per 2-capsule serving with added vitamin E and runs 60 days at full dose. If thymoquinone concentration matters more to you than capsule count, Triquetra Health's TQ-Advanced claims 5% thymoquinone in a 60-count bottle instead. Seven bottles here, three formats, and one specification that quietly decides most of it.
This is not the category for you if you want a plant oil with published clinical dosing. Nigella sativa supplements are sold on tradition and compound percentages, not on standardised units. If that bothers you, a straightforward algal omega-3 is a cleaner buy. If it doesn't, keep reading, because the seven bottles below differ in ways the front label hides.
Best vegan black seed oil at a glance
| Pick | Thymoquinone claim | Serving size | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall Healths Harmony Black Seed Oil |
Not stated | 1000mg 2 capsules |
Check Price |
| Best upgrade Triquetra Health TQ-Advanced |
5% claim | 2g from 30g seed |
Check Price |
| Best for families Dr. Berg Black Seed Oil Organic |
Not stated | 4.5g 1 tsp liquid |
Check Price |
| Best premium Gaia Herbs Black Seed Oil |
10mg guaranteed | 2 capsules 30 servings |
Check Price |
| Best minimal setup ALPHA01 Organic Capsules 1440mg |
28mg claim | 1440mg per serving |
Check Price |
| Most versatile NatureWise Vegan Oil of Oregano |
3% claim | 300mg oregano + black seed |
Check Price |
| Best budget pick Better Place Organics Capsules |
Not stated | 500mg per capsule |
Check Price |
How I narrowed the field down to seven
I weighted four things, in this order, and the order is the whole argument.
- A stated thymoquinone figure, as a percentage or a milligram count per serving. This is the only compound-level number any of these brands publishes, so it's the closest thing to a comparable potency spec.
- Milligrams of oil per serving. A 500mg capsule and a 1,440mg serving are not the same product at a different price.
- A published vegan claim on the listing itself. Softgels are historically gelatin, so this is a real screen, not a formality.
- Servings per bottle, because a supplement you finish in a month is a subscription, not a purchase.
Why those weights? Because everything else in this category is unfalsifiable from a listing. Sourcing country, cold-press temperature and "full spectrum" are claims I cannot check and neither can you. A percentage on a label is at least a commitment the brand has made in writing.
That screening left seven bottles across three formats: standard 500mg softgels, concentrated softgels, and one straight liquid oil. Only three of the seven publish any thymoquinone number at all. That gap is the single most useful thing I found.
What does "vegan black seed oil" actually guarantee?
Less than you'd hope, and this is where the search term and the products drift apart.
Black seed oil is pressed from Nigella sativa seeds, so the oil itself is plant-based by definition. Every bottle of black seed oil on Amazon is technically vegan in its contents. The word only starts earning its keep at the capsule shell, where standard softgels use bovine or fish gelatin.
So when a listing says vegan, read it as a statement about the shell and the manufacturing line, not the oil. Five of these seven put the word on the listing: Healths Harmony, Better Place Organics, NatureWise, Triquetra and ALPHA01 all state it, and Dr. Berg's liquid states 100% plant-based. Gaia Herbs sells its version as 60 vegan capsules in the title.
What none of them state is the shell material. That means if you're avoiding carrageenan or need a specific starch-based capsule, the listing won't answer you and I won't guess. What you can rely on is the allergen language, which several publish plainly. NatureWise lists no eggs, fish, gluten, milk, dairy, soy, peanut, sesame, shellfish, tree nut or wheat. Dr. Berg claims freedom from 15+ allergens. Triquetra states soy-free, dairy-free, filler-free and preservative-free. Those are the checkable parts of a vegan black seed oil claim.
Thymoquinone percentage: the number that separates these
Most guides in this category compare milligrams. That's the wrong number, or at least an incomplete one.
Thymoquinone is the compound the research literature keeps returning to, and a 500mg capsule of unstandardised oil and a 500mg capsule standardised to 5% thymoquinone are different products wearing the same figure. Here is what the seven listings actually publish:
- Triquetra TQ-Advanced: 5% thymoquinone claimed, described as a 15:1 concentrate where each 2-gram serving derives from 30 grams of seed.
- NatureWise: black seed oil standardised to 3% thymoquinone, alongside 300mg of oregano oil at 60% carvacrol.
- ALPHA01: 28mg of naturally occurring thymoquinone per 1,440mg serving.
- Gaia Herbs: 10mg thymoquinone guaranteed per serving.
- Healths Harmony, Better Place Organics, Dr. Berg: no figure published.
Those are the brands' own claims, not lab results I've verified. But the presence of a number is itself information. A brand that prints 3% has committed to a specification it can be held to. A brand that prints nothing has left itself room.
Note the two ways of expressing it. Percentages tell you concentration; milligrams tell you dose. ALPHA01's 28mg is the highest absolute figure stated across these seven, and Gaia's 10mg guaranteed is the most conservative. Neither is automatically better, but if you're comparing bottles, compare like with like or you'll talk yourself into the wrong one.
1. Healths Harmony Black Seed Oil — Best overall
A 120-softgel bottle at 500mg per capsule with added vitamin E, and the one buyers here choose most often by a wide margin.

Best for: someone starting a daily habit and wanting four months per bottle Skip it if: you want a published thymoquinone percentage
What sets this one apart in the group is simple arithmetic. It's a 120 Count bottle at 500mg per capsule, so a 2-capsule serving delivers 1000mg and the bottle covers 60 days. Take one capsule daily and it stretches to four months. Only Better Place Organics and ALPHA01 match that 120-count, and neither sells anything like the volume this one moves.
Healths Harmony adds natural vitamin E as D-alpha tocopherol, which no other pick here states. That matters practically: seed oils oxidise, and vitamin E is the standard companion antioxidant. The listing says the softgels are vegan, non-GMO and made in a GMP-certified facility in the USA, and it flags the obvious caution, that anyone with a known seed allergy should avoid black seed oil entirely.
The bottle itself is small at 4 x 2.2 x 2.2 in, which suits a crowded cabinet shelf.
The trade-off against the field is the missing thymoquinone figure. Triquetra publishes 5%, Gaia guarantees 10mg per serving, and this listing publishes neither. You're buying volume and the third-cheapest position in the set rather than a stated concentration.
Pros:
- 120 softgels, the joint-largest count here
- 1000mg per 2-capsule serving clearly stated
- Natural vitamin E included, unique in this set
- Third-cheapest of the seven picks
- Compact 4-inch bottle
Cons:
- No thymoquinone percentage or milligram figure published
- Only two sellers list it
- Serving requires two capsules, not one
- No stated third-party testing, unlike NatureWise and Triquetra
2. Triquetra Health TQ-Advanced® Black Seed Oil Softgels — Best upgrade
The highest thymoquinone claim in this comparison, at 5%, from a stated 15:1 seed concentrate.

Best for: buyers who care about thymoximone concentration above all else Skip it if: you need more than 30 servings per bottle
Triquetra is the concentration play. The listing claims 5% thymoquinone and describes the oil as a 15:1 concentrate, with each 2-gram serving derived from 30 grams of Nigella sativa seed. That's the brand's claim, not a figure I can verify, but it's the most specific potency statement of the seven and it's expressed two ways, which is unusual.
At 60 Count with 500 mg per capsule, the bottle runs 30 servings. That's the shortest supply here alongside Gaia. It also sits at the second-most expensive position in the set, so you're paying for concentration per capsule rather than months on the shelf.
The supporting claims are the ones I'd want on any supplement: vegan, GMO-free, filler-free, soy-free, dairy-free, preservative-free, third-party tested and GMP manufactured. Only NatureWise matches that combination of third-party testing plus a stated standardisation. The listing also suggests topical use on skin and scalp, which softgels make fiddly compared with Dr. Berg's liquid.
Against Healths Harmony, the maths is stark: half the capsules, a higher price position, and one number in its favour. If that number is what you came for, it's the right buy.
Pros:
- 5% thymoquinone, the highest claim in this set
- 15:1 concentrate from 30g seed per serving
- Third-party tested and GMP manufactured
- Filler-free, soy-free, preservative-free
Cons:
- 60 capsules means only 30 servings
- Second-most expensive of the seven
- Topical use awkward from a softgel
- Only two sellers list it
3. Dr. Berg Black Seed Oil Organic Cold Pressed — Best for families
The only liquid oil here, in a 4 oz amber glass bottle, usable orally and topically from the same spoon.

Best for: households wanting one bottle for oral and topical use Skip it if: you dislike the taste of raw seed oil
Format is the entire story here. This is 4 Fl Oz of unrefined liquid oil in a Boston round amber glass bottle, and it's the only non-capsule pick of the seven. That solves a problem the softgels can't: you can measure a dose for one person and rub the same oil into a scalp or a joint for another, which is why it earns the family label.
The listing states 4.5 g of oil per serving, which is roughly a teaspoon, from Turkish black cumin seeds pressed with zero heat. It's USDA Organic, Halal, non-GMO and described as 100% plant-based with one ingredient. Free from dairy, gluten, soy, corn, nuts and 15+ allergens, with zero hexane and zero preservatives claimed. The amber glass is a genuine functional choice for a light-sensitive oil, not decoration. The brand also offers a 30-day satisfaction window.
Released in 2025, this is the newest listing in the set.
Two honest drawbacks. It's the third-most expensive pick, and no thymoquinone figure appears anywhere. You also have to taste it, and black seed oil is famously sharp and peppery. Capsules exist precisely because of that.
Pros:
- Only liquid format here, usable orally or topically
- USDA Organic, Halal and single-ingredient
- Amber glass protects the oil from light
- 4.5g per serving clearly stated
- 30-day satisfaction window offered
Cons:
- Strong, peppery taste with nothing to mask it
- No thymoquinone figure published
- Third-most expensive of the seven
- Requires measuring a dose by spoon
4. Gaia Herbs Black Seed Oil — Best premium
The only pick that guarantees a milligram figure: 10mg thymoquinone per serving, across 30 servings.

Best for: buyers who want a guaranteed milligram figure per serving Skip it if: you want the most capsules for the money
The word doing the work on this listing is "guaranteed". Gaia states 10mg thymoquinone guaranteed per serving from a full-spectrum cold-pressed extract, and a guarantee is a stronger form of claim than a percentage that could drift with the batch. It's also the clearest way to compare against ALPHA01's 28mg, since both are absolute figures rather than percentages.
The bottle holds 60 vegan capsules across 30 servings, so two capsules a day. Gluten-free and soy-free per the listing, with the brand pitching immune balance, respiratory health and general antioxidant support in traditional-use language. Gaia has been at this for over 35 years by its own account, and this particular listing dates to 2020, making it the longest-established of the seven.
At 5.6 oz it's the heaviest item here, and the dimensions run 4 x 2.25 x 2.5 in.
Here's the problem. It's the most expensive pick in this comparison and it delivers the fewest servings alongside Triquetra, whose thymoquinone claim is higher. You're paying for the brand's testing culture and the word "guaranteed", not for the biggest number or the biggest bottle.
Pros:
- 10mg thymoquinone guaranteed per serving
- Full-spectrum cold-pressed extract
- Longest-established listing in this set
- Gluten-free and soy-free stated
Cons:
- Most expensive pick here
- Only 30 servings per bottle
- Lower stated thymoquinone than ALPHA01 and Triquetra
- Two capsules needed per serving
5. ALPHA01 Organic Black Seed Oil Capsules 1440mg — Best minimal setup
1,440mg per serving with 28mg of thymoquinone claimed, in the smallest bottle of the seven.

Best for: one-capsule-a-day simplicity in a pocket-sized bottle Skip it if: typos in the listing bother you
Two numbers make this one interesting. The serving delivers 1,440mg of virgin black seed oil, the largest capsule dose here, and the listing states 28mg of naturally occurring thymoquinone within it. That's the highest absolute thymoquinone figure across these seven, nearly triple Gaia's guaranteed 10mg.
It's a 120 Count bottle, matching Healths Harmony and Better Place Organics for volume, and it's the second-cheapest of the set. The oil is described as Ethiopian Nigella sativa, cold-pressed and virgin, and the listing claims organic, non-GMO, vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free and preservative-free. Physically it's tiny at 3.15 x 1.57 x 0.79 in, genuinely pocketable, which none of the others are.
Now the awkward part. The listing title contains "4X% Thymoquenine", which is both a typo and an unreadable percentage. That kind of sloppiness on a supplement label is a legitimate reason to hesitate, and it undercuts the otherwise strong 28mg claim sitting in the bullets.
No third-party testing is stated either, which Triquetra and NatureWise both offer. Judge it on the numbers, with your eyes open about the presentation.
Pros:
- 28mg thymoquinone, highest stated figure here
- 1,440mg per serving, the largest capsule dose
- 120 capsules at the second-cheapest position
- Smallest bottle in the set, easy to travel with
Cons:
- Garbled "4X% Thymoquenine" claim in the title
- No third-party testing stated
- Sits in a general herbal category, not black seed oil
- Only two sellers list it
6. NatureWise Vegan Oil of Oregano with Black Seed Oil — Most versatile
A combination softgel pairing 300mg of oregano oil at 60% carvacrol with black seed oil standardised to 3% thymoquinone.

Best for: seasonal wellness stacking oregano with black seed Skip it if: you want black seed oil on its own
This is the outlier, and it's here because two standardised compounds in one softgel is a real advantage if that's the stack you were going to build anyway. Each serving carries 300 mg of oregano oil extract standardised to 60% carvacrol, plus cold-pressed black seed oil standardised to 3% thymoquinone. Buying two bottles to do the same job costs more shelf space and more capsules.
Volume is the other draw. At 150 Count it holds the most softgels of any pick here, described as a 75-day supply, which is longer than anything except a single-capsule regimen on the 120-count bottles. The listing states vegan and non-GMO, with no eggs, fish, gluten, milk, dairy, soy, peanut, sesame, shellfish, tree nut or wheat. USA manufactured in a cGMP facility with independent third-party audits.
The obvious limitation: the black seed oil quantity isn't published, only its 3% standardisation. So you know the concentration and not the dose, which is the reverse of ALPHA01's problem. This also sits in the oregano category rather than with the dedicated black seed oils, and if oregano isn't part of your plan, you're paying for an ingredient you didn't want.
Pros:
- Two standardised compounds in one softgel
- 150 softgels, the largest count in this set
- 60% carvacrol and 3% thymoquinone both stated
- Third-party audited cGMP facility
- Broad allergen-free list published
Cons:
- Black seed oil milligrams per serving not published
- Oregano is wasted if you only want black seed
- Mid-range price for a partly-unrelated ingredient
- Not sold in the black seed oil category
7. Better Place Organics Black Seed Oil Capsules — Best budget pick
The cheapest of the seven, with 120 capsules at 500mg each and very little else stated.

Best for: trying the category at the lowest cost in this set Skip it if: you want a stated thymoquinone level
If your goal is to find out whether black seed oil suits you before committing, this is the least costly way in. It's the cheapest pick here, holds 120 Count at 500mg per capsule, and covers 60 days at a 2-capsule serving or four months at one.
The listing claims 100% organic Nigella sativa oil, cold-pressed extraction, vegan and non-GMO softgels made in a GMP-certified facility in the USA. It names thymoquinone, thymohydroquinone and thymol as naturally occurring compounds, which is background rather than a specification. Digestion, joints, hair and skin are the stated focus.
The honest assessment is that this listing reads almost identically to Healths Harmony in its claims, minus the vitamin E. Same count, same milligrams, same cold-press language, lower price position. What you give up is any published thymoquinone figure, the added antioxidant, and the reassurance of a listing that moves real volume: this is the slowest-selling pick of the seven by a considerable distance.
At 5 x 3 x 3 in it's also the bulkiest bottle here for the same 120 capsules, which is odd but harmless.
Pros:
- Cheapest pick in this comparison
- 120 capsules at 500mg, four months at one daily
- Cold-pressed, vegan and non-GMO stated
- GMP-certified USA facility claimed
Cons:
- No thymoquinone figure published
- No vitamin E, unlike the similar Healths Harmony bottle
- Slowest-selling of the seven here
- Largest bottle footprint for the same capsule count
Softgels or a spoon of liquid oil?
Six of these seven are capsules and one is liquid, and the choice is less about potency than about how you'll actually use it.
Choose softgels if you want a fixed dose with no measuring, no taste, and no chance of a sticky bottle in a bag. Black seed oil tastes sharply peppery and bitter, and a capsule removes that entirely. Softgels also travel well, which is where ALPHA01's 3.15 x 1.57 x 0.79 in bottle wins outright.
Choose the liquid if you want to use the same oil on skin and scalp as well as swallow it. Dr. Berg's 4 oz amber glass bottle is the only pick here you can genuinely apply topically without cutting something open. Triquetra suggests topical use too, but from a softgel that means puncturing capsules one at a time.
There's a storage angle as well. Liquid oil in amber glass, with zero preservatives claimed, wants a cool dark cupboard and reasonably prompt use once opened. Softgels are a sealed dose each, which is more forgiving of a bottle that lingers.
How long does one bottle actually last?
Capsule count on its own tells you nothing. Serving size is what converts it into days, and the spread across these seven is wider than the labels suggest.
- NatureWise, 150 softgels: stated as a 75-day supply, the longest here.
- Healths Harmony, 120 capsules: 60 days at 1000mg per 2-capsule serving, or 120 at one daily.
- Better Place Organics, 120 capsules: same maths, 60 or 120 days.
- ALPHA01, 120 capsules: 1,440mg per serving in a one-capsule-a-day format.
- Triquetra, 60 capsules: 30 servings.
- Gaia Herbs, 60 capsules: 30 servings, stated on the label.
- Dr. Berg, 4 fl oz: 4.5g per serving, roughly 25 teaspoon doses.
Run those against price position and the picture flips. Gaia is the most expensive bottle in the set and delivers 30 servings. Better Place Organics is the cheapest and delivers up to 120. That's not an argument for the cheap one, because Gaia publishes a guaranteed 10mg thymoquinone figure and Better Place publishes nothing, but it's the comparison worth making before you click.
What the listings do not tell you
Three blanks run across all seven, and knowing them saves you from reading meaning into silence.
Capsule shell material. Every capsule pick states vegan, none states what the shell is made from. If you're avoiding a specific hydrocolloid, no listing here answers you.
Batch-level test results. Triquetra and NatureWise both claim third-party testing, which is more than the others offer, but no pick publishes a certificate of analysis you can read.
Thymoquinone stability over time. Four of the seven give a figure at manufacture. None says how it holds up on a warm shelf twelve months later, which is exactly why Healths Harmony's added vitamin E is worth noticing.
One more thing. Nigella sativa is a seed, and Healths Harmony is the only listing here that puts an allergy warning in its bullets. Anyone with a known seed allergy should treat that warning as applying to all seven, regardless of which listing prints it.
The verdict
The best vegan black seed oil for most people here is the Healths Harmony 120-softgel bottle. It gives you 1000mg per 2-capsule serving, added vitamin E that no other pick states, a third-cheapest price position, and 60 to 120 days per bottle depending on your dose. It also moves far more volume than anything else in this comparison, which in a category full of near-identical listings counts for something.
Two conditions flip that.
First, if a published thymoquinone number is your deciding factor, buy Triquetra TQ-Advanced instead. Its 5% claim is the highest concentration figure here and it backs that with third-party testing and a stated 15:1 concentrate. You accept 30 servings and a premium price position in exchange.
Second, if more than one person in the house will use it, or you want to apply it to skin and scalp, buy Dr. Berg's 4 oz liquid. It's the only pick you can use both ways without modifying anything, and the USDA Organic single-ingredient formula in amber glass is the cleanest specification in the set.
Triquetra's exact advantage over Healths Harmony is one number, published and standardised: 5% thymoquinone against no figure at all. If that number decides your purchase, pay the difference. If it doesn't, the volume and the vitamin E win.
FAQ
Is vegan black seed oil worth the money?
Whether vegan black seed oil is worth the money depends on what you're comparing it against. The oil is plant-based regardless, so the vegan label mostly certifies the capsule shell rather than adding potency. If you need a gelatin-free softgel, the picks here cost no more than conventional ones. Better Place Organics is the cheapest in this set at 120 capsules.
How much does a bottle of black seed oil actually last?
A bottle of black seed oil lasts between 25 and 150 doses in this comparison. NatureWise claims 75 days from 150 softgels. Healths Harmony, Better Place Organics and ALPHA01 all hold 120 capsules. Triquetra and Gaia give 30 servings each. Dr. Berg's 4 fl oz liquid works out around 25 teaspoon doses at 4.5g per serving.
What thymoquinone percentage should I look for?
The thymoquinone percentage you should look for is whichever one is actually printed. Triquetra claims 5%, the highest here, and NatureWise states 3%. Gaia guarantees 10mg per serving and ALPHA01 claims 28mg. Three picks publish nothing at all. A stated figure is a written commitment, so treat its absence as a real difference between bottles.
Healths Harmony or Triquetra: which should I buy?
Healths Harmony or Triquetra comes down to volume against concentration. Healths Harmony gives 120 softgels, 1000mg per 2-capsule serving, added vitamin E and a lower price position. Triquetra gives 60 capsules with a 5% thymoquinone claim, third-party testing and a 15:1 concentrate. Buy Healths Harmony for a daily habit, Triquetra if the percentage decides it.
What mistake do first-time black seed oil buyers make?
The mistake first-time black seed oil buyers make is comparing milligrams alone. A 500mg capsule of unstandardised oil and a 500mg capsule standardised to 5% thymoquinone are not equivalent, despite matching front labels. Check the compound figure first, then the count, then the serving size. Anyone with a seed allergy should avoid the category entirely.
Pick the bottle that matches how you'll actually take it, not the one with the loudest label. If a capsule with breakfast is realistic for you, Healths Harmony's 120 softgels and added vitamin E make it the easiest habit to keep for the longest stretch, and that consistency matters more in this category than any single percentage on a bottle. Open the listing, check the count and the serving size against the numbers above, and confirm the thymoquinone figure is still printed where I found it. Labels get reformulated; the comparison method doesn't.
Last updated: September 23, 2026. Product availability re-checked.
This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.